“Id and Ego”

Story written by Franklin Rayeski – Please do not use without crediting me

“Hey there.”
“Hello.”
“How are you?”
“Alive…for the most part.”
“Oh.”
“And you?”
“I’m feeling good.”
“That’s nice.”
“I’m not very good at small talk.”
“Neither am I.”


“So you look nice today.”
“Huh?”
“You; you are dressed nicely.”
“Thank you. You look nice as well.”
“I should; I just spent the past while fixing my hair.”
“Oh?”
“Yeah, I need to get it cut.”
“It’s too late for that.”
“I know, but still. Maybe I can get a haircut…you know, later.”
“Later?”
“Yeah…after this.”
“That’s right. I never thought about what’d happen after.”
“I like to think it’ll get better from here.”
“I doubt.”
“Yeah, me too.”


“Can we get this over with?”
“What?”
“This. I’m tired of waiting.”
“Don’t ask me, I’m not in control.”
“I was asking rhetorically.”
“Oh.”
“Anyway, are we just going to do this?”
“Do what?”
“This.”
“Talking?”
“No, small-talking; us going back and forth like this.”
“Well, what do you want to talk about then?”
“I want to talk about what’s going to happen.”
“I don’t want to. It scares me.”
“Too bad. We’re here. It’s going to happen.”


“Do you get the feeling…?”
“What?”
“The feeling that people are…listening?”
“Why would anyone listen to us?”
“I don’t know.”
“Why would anyone want to listen to us?”
“Beats me.”
“It’s absurd.”
“Should we tell them then?”
“Who?”
“Well, whoever’s listening.”
“Why?”
“We got nothing better to do.”
“Okay? I don’t want to. But you can.”
“Really?”
“Knock yourself out.”
“Okay…here it goes:…”
“…Well?”
“I can’t think of anything to say.”


“It’s almost time. You ready?”
“No.”
“Me neither.”
“What about them?”
“Who?”
“The people listening…”
“There’s no one there.”
“Are you sure?”
“No one is ever there.”
“…that’s not true.”
“Look me in the eye and say it isn’t.”
“…I can’t.”
“Thought so.”
“Do you think they’ll listen after…?”
“They always do.”
“Why not tell them now? Please?”
“Go ahead.”
“I can’t.”
“And I don’t want to.”
“…fine.”
“Anytime now…”
“I’m sad. There. I said it.”
“No…say all of it.”
“We’re sad.”
“Anything else?”
“No…”
“Have they listened?”
“Maybe…”
“Okay…it’s almost time.”


“I don’t want to do this anymore.”
“But you got ready. And you said you would.”
“I change my mind.”
“Fine: stay with your imaginary friends.”
“But if you go, I’ll-…”
“I know, I know.”
“Please don’t go.”
“I can’t stay. I’m sorry.”
“Just talk to them, the people listening…”
“No.”
“Please?”
“I said: no.”
“Why can’t you!?”
“Don’t yell at me!”
“Then talk to them! Tell them everything!”
“No!”
“Why can’t you!? They can help!”
“I don’t want to be helped!”
“They can stop you!”
“I don’t want to be stopped!”
“They’re listening now!”
“Even if they were…they wouldn’t care…”
“God! You’re so…so…stubborn! And rude and one-sided! I…I-…!”
“Say it!”
“I-…I-…!”
“I dare you to say it! After everything! Say it!”
“I-…!”
“Go on!”
“I hate you!”
“…I hate you too…”


4 thoughts on ““Id and Ego”

  1. I had brought this to a writing club I go to and two of my friends did a great recitation of it. I’m hoping , at one point, to record them reading the lines back and forth and post it here so you all can get the full experience! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

